bittah.com!~ New Machine - looking for feedback.

Tribes 1, Tribes 2 and Midair gaming hub for the Australia and New Zealand communities.
We don't mention vengeance or ascend.

Moderator: Super Moderators

Discord

62
Online now
  • Recent Topics
1 2 3 4 5

Post » Sun Jun 28, 2015 3:39 pm

New Machine - looking for feedback.

Looking for some feedback on a new machine.

This machine is intended to be used for gaming, but it will most likely get used for work - the most intensive work related program I use is word, and about the only time I use the three screens on my desk is for comparing documents - although I am a fan of playing turn based strategy while watching Netflix and drafting reports. Currently upgrading because my kid sister needs a new machine after first LED monstrosity I put together gave up the ghost - some kids get hand-me-down socks, she gets a GTX 670 & i5 3570 with an SSD to devour Minecraft with.


Anyway, new system:

CPU - Intel i5-4590
RAM - G.Skill 16GB DDR3 Dual channel
Mobo - ASRock Fatal1ty H97 Performance
GPU - Gigabyte GTX-970
Hard Drive 1 - Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive 2 - Seagate Barracuda 4TB
PSU - Antec 750W 80 Bronze
Case - Unknown.

In terms of the case, I need something that can put up with the summer, so a full ATX is preferred/necessary. I'd like something cool and quiet that doesn't scream "douchebag", preferably without any sort of vent on the top so I don't feel like a bastard shooing my cat off it - currently running an Antec 900.

May go with it again, cat issue aside it's a bloody excellent case.

EDIT: Also is it worth going with Windows 8.1? I was planning to stick with 7 but if it has any serious performance improvements I'll be over it like white on rice.
Rougey
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: In SPACE
[ignore]

Post » Sun Jun 28, 2015 5:46 pm

If it were me, I'd go with a Seasonic X series PSU, and Silverstone FT02, sans window. Again, and every time. The rest looks good.

FT02 does vent out the top, but it's positive pressure in the case and won't matter at all if your cat wants to park on top of it.

Yes to Win8.1, I find it significantly snappier than 7 and the lack of start button doesn't bother me at all (SSD access times ftw).
punk
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2241
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 9:51 am
[ignore]

Post » Sun Jun 28, 2015 6:41 pm

8 is gr8

See the same complaints from the guys that server 2012/r2 is missing the start button, whats so hard about hitting start then typing what you want...you dont need to use the tiles or go into all apps
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1576
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:25 pm

Installed 8 at the beginning of the year and its not at all as bad as I was expecting.

Those large single drives have some pretty worrying fail rates. General rule of thumb is more moving parts = significantly higher chance of fail. Grab some single platter 1tbs or double platter 2tb. Reliable data on this is hard to find, so bust out some salt. My own anecdotal evidence: four mates have bought the 3tb seagates; all failed. Workmate just bought one of those WD 6tb drives and its starting to make noises/windows keeps disconnecting it. RMAing it on monday.

Look around or wait a bit, the 980 prices are taking some hits and you might be able to grab one cheap. The 970 has some problems that you may/may not give a shit about. (only 3.5gb usable ram, some weirdness with benchmark results etc)
Seraphic
bittah
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:43 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:11 am

Re: New Machine - looking for feedback.

8 is gr8

See the same complaints from the guys that server 2012/r2 is missing the start button, whats so hard about hitting start then typing what you want...you dont need to use the tiles or go into all apps
If you have crap memory, like me, you might remember where it is, but not the name. But for dumber folks like me, there's always classic shell.
SkymarshallHeff
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:34 am

See the same complaints from the guys that server 2012/r2 is missing the start button, whats so hard about hitting start then typing what you want...you dont need to use the tiles or go into all apps
If you're seeing the interface of a 2012/r2 server you're pretty much automatically doing it wrong. Thats what powershell/rsat is for. But yes, once you learn to type what you're after it's certainly not a difficult transition to make.
Wildkat
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 10:40 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:15 am

No overclocking? I'd spend the extra $50 and get a K series (4690k)
DOX
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 12:29 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:25 am

No overclocking? I'd spend the extra $50 and get a K series (4690k)
same here, haswell/devils canyon overclock nicely provided you get a bit better than a stock hsf

if you're really patient then you could also wait off for skylake(end of the year) on socket 1151 which will support ddr4 or waiting on a probable price drop of haswell. Many people are skipping broadcom i think
philmarcracken
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4243
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 10:01 pm
ICQ: 116531792
Location: RIP FTTH
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:20 pm

Thanks Gents

CPU - Intel i5-4690
CPU Fan - Noctua NH-L12 (forgot this before)
RAM - G.Skill 16GB DDR3 Dual channel
Mobo - ASRock Fatal1ty H97 Performance
GPU - Gigabyte GTX-970
Hard Drive 1 - Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive 2 - Seagate Barracuda 4TB
PSU - Seasonic-X 650W
Case - Corsair Obsidian 450D

I might wait until September/November, I'm really in no hurry as the little one probably needs to read more books anyway - or not, ever since being exposed to dads newest ball and chain been she's a book devouring machine.
Rougey
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: In SPACE
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:53 am

See the same complaints from the guys that server 2012/r2 is missing the start button, whats so hard about hitting start then typing what you want...you dont need to use the tiles or go into all apps
If you're seeing the interface of a 2012/r2 server you're pretty much automatically doing it wrong. Thats what powershell/rsat is for. But yes, once you learn to type what you're after it's certainly not a difficult transition to make.
Plz tell me how to ps/rsat shadowprotect&IM

I deal with a buttload of LOB apps that sadly nearly all require rdp/vnc to server (medical director, obscan, REST etc) - anything that can be done via cmd or ps is done or scripted in labtech
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1576
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:49 am


Plz tell me how to ps/rsat shadowprotect&IM

I deal with a buttload of LOB apps that sadly nearly all require rdp/vnc to server (medical director, obscan, REST etc) - anything that can be done via cmd or ps is done or scripted in labtech

Weeeeeelll for starters shadowprotect can/should be installed via push installation from the shadowprotect console (installed on your workstation), and imagemanager should really only be installed on your backup appliance, so they aren't great examples. Your LOB apps I absolutely have no experience with, but if that is genuinely server software that needs a UI to operate, then well... I work in an industry notorious for badly written software, and even we don't have much of that garbage left and what we have is trapped inside a couple of VMs we refer to as the Shit Software Servers.

Anyway, not my (or anyone elses) place to judge how you run your servers, but MS are most definately pushing hard for a move away from GUIs on Server boxes (pretty obvious from the installation screen changes between 2008 and 12r2) and 2016 installation? Can't even enable the GUI during installation, have to manually do it later.

/sidetrack
Wildkat
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 10:40 am
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:02 pm

* a wild kat appears ... you have a satchel charge *
Nasty Hobbit
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 9660
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 11:44 pm
Website: http://nastyhobbit.org
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:47 pm

I'll set up defences.
Sotha
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 9:27 pm
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:09 pm

labtech to rdp onto a server that has SP console setup for that client > vpn and manually adding deets in SP console on my workstation for the 400+ clients we support

If I just had the one business with a few servers and 100 odd workstations it'd be easy sailing to auto everything...trust me I like to auto/script my stuff
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1576
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:50 am

Looking for some feedback
why wait? buy your little red sports car now.
GoZFisH
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:42 pm
Location: Not on a goat farm anymore.
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:07 pm

Bumping this.

I opted not to give the sibling the hand me down after finding out she got a laptop from her school.

Anywho, ye' ol' faithful has finally given up the ghost so it's time to get my little red sports car:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor ($319.00 @ Shopping Express)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U12S 55.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($89.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Motherboard: Asus PRIME Z270M-PLUS Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($189.00 @ Scorptec)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory ($166.98 @ Mwave Australia)
Storage: Samsung 850 Pro Series 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($179.00 @ PLE Computers)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($130.00 @ Shopping Express)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Dual Series Video Card ($569.00 @ IJK)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($185.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit
Total: $1826.98
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-03-19 19:01 AEDT+1100


I'm still not 100% on the 1070, I'd be happy as larry with a 1060 not to mention saving $100-200 but I thought I'd pop it in there to see if it would add inches to my... feet.
Rougey
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: In SPACE
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:20 pm

Intel SSD 540 Series 240G 2.5in SATA 3.0 6GB/s ($139.00 @ umart.com.au)

not sure what the difference is between the samsung and this intel ssd. probably bugger all ;p
nice work with the seasonic psu
i have a gtx1060 6gb, it's awesome. depends what card you had before i guess but imo save the ~$150, get some snapchat shares and share feet pics
Nasty Hobbit
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 9660
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 11:44 pm
Website: http://nastyhobbit.org
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:24 pm

recently upgraded my rig and the only difference between the parts you've listed and my machine is mobo and that I kept my 280x for a while longer. Even with a slightly older card i'm rocking 60+ fps on ultra on any given game but if I were to upgrade it would be a 1070 just for that extra future proofing but I imagine the 1060 would handle everything you would throw at it for a while anyway.

I went with http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z270%20Extreme4/ for the motherboard cos i like pretty lights.
PeTtY
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:57 am
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:43 pm

There is a rather large price difference between the Samsung and the Intel, so I've changed my mind on that front.

I'm still not sold on that 1070, my 680 was doing just fine with everything except Star Citizen.
Rougey
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: In SPACE
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:18 pm

You are spending an awful lot on shipping?

Go for an M.2 drive, samsung 960pro or intel 600P. Both for speed and neatness (single screw holds it onto the mobo)

I swapped from a 6600+1070 to a 7700k+1060 and the difference is crazy, cpu really hauls it along.

Assuming you already have the case, id go something along the following:
Intel 7700K
ASUS Prime Z270M-PLUS
EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB)
Samsung 960 EVO 250GB SSD
EVGA 650W SuperNOVA G1
Cooler Master MasterLiquid 120
$1,623.00 + about $15 courier to Sydney. (all from scorptec)

Add in whatever spinning rust drive you want and score a $20 win10pro key off ozbargain.

Am a little bit of an evga fanboi, warranty on their gfx cards etc is epic, you can put on a water cooler and if it dies, just pull it off and send it back. Also 10yr warranty on that PSU.
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1576
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]