bittah.com!~ Any solution to fucking server browser freezing on refresh? - Page 2

Tribes 1, Tribes 2 and Midair gaming hub for the Australia and New Zealand communities.
We don't mention vengeance or ascend.

bittah:// Community / Games / 

Moderator: Super Moderators

Discord


Online now
  • Recent Topics
1 2 3 4 5

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:33 pm

doopy... i do believe he was making a sarcastic comment evolving from T:V's missfortune and what they said to us :lol:
:|CASK|:
annoyed
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:51 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:54 pm

I've had some seriously fucked up problems with BF where it freezes and I try to alt tab or ctrl-alt-del and it constantly maximises and minimises itself and I can't do anything and have to hard reboot. EA are such retards they always leave shit like this in their games.
Sirius
bittah
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 6:24 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:11 pm

Support ticket sent to EA tech support.

I have just spent over an hour trying to l;ogin and play this damned game. An hour is far too long, its now 00:11 and I have to go to bed soon. No fun for me tonight.

So I decided to send a ticket to these wankers. They ahd better fix this shit soon, or I am goiung to have to whinge some more about it.

F34R!

OH MY GOD.

BF2, when I get to play is awesome.
BF2 server browser IS ASS.

PC Specs:

AMD 64 3500+
1 gig of RAM
Pixelview nVidia 6800GT
256k ADSL internet connection.
Windows XP SP2

Problems:
Locks up when trying to login.
Locks up when the mulitplayer broswer starts searching.
Locks up when I refresh the browser.
Servers dissapear when I refresh the browser.
Locks up loading the game
Crashed to desktop when selecting a server
My internet connection becomes unresponsive when I try to login and the game locks up. I have to reset my DSL modem.

I have rebooted my PC, killed all un-needed running processes. Turned this that and the other on and off.

I have spent an hour tonight just trying to log in and have some fun.

This is not fun.

Help please. I want to smash something :(

/me tears
alThor
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:37 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:31 pm

Punkbuster seems to be a right pain in the ass as well. The chat screen was filled with disconnects and reconnects tonight and it made what started out as a good game complete balls!

I hope they do something about all the problems people are having real fast as this is just a complete and utter shame...... But then, EA are renowned for this sort of thing i guess. :(
CJ
user
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 1:28 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:54 pm

Heh mine's actually frozen twice tonight; first time since retail.

Crying into my hands did fuckall ffs.
Deepjay
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 13696
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:47 pm

Yeah I got kicked from Internode because it was dropping packets on me.

So punkbuster goes omg wtf hax and kicks ya :(
doopy_loopy
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 8984
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:13 pm
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:03 am

If they dont fix this soon. I am going to return this POS for a refund. I bought the game to play, not to cry over.
alThor
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:37 am
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:42 pm

Re: Support ticket sent to EA tech support.

I have just spent over an hour trying to l;ogin and play this damned game. An hour is far too long, its now 00:11 and I have to go to bed soon. No fun for me tonight.

So I decided to send a ticket to these wankers. They ahd better fix this shit soon, or I am goiung to have to whinge some more about it.

F34R!

OH MY GOD.

BF2, when I get to play is awesome.
BF2 server browser IS ASS.

PC Specs:

AMD 64 3500+
1 gig of RAM
Pixelview nVidia 6800GT
256k ADSL internet connection.
Windows XP SP2

Problems:
Locks up when trying to login.
Locks up when the mulitplayer broswer starts searching.
Locks up when I refresh the browser.
Servers dissapear when I refresh the browser.
Locks up loading the game
Crashed to desktop when selecting a server
My internet connection becomes unresponsive when I try to login and the game locks up. I have to reset my DSL modem.

I have rebooted my PC, killed all un-needed running processes. Turned this that and the other on and off.

I have spent an hour tonight just trying to log in and have some fun.

This is not fun.

Help please. I want to smash something :(

/me tears
EA Tech supports rather pathetic reply. I dont think they actually read what my problems were.
Hello!

Thank you for contacting us here at Electronic Arts Technical Support, we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We appreciate the opportunity to help resolve your issue.

Connection issues typically are caused by one or more ports being blocked by a firewall, router, or even your Internet Service Provider to help maintain security. These ports are the doorways used to send and recieve information between your computer and the server. You must configure your router/firewall to have the game's ports open in order to connect to the servers properly.

The ports for Battlefield 2 are as follows:

UDP ports:

27900
29900
29910
27901
55123
55124
55215
16567
1500-4999
TCP ports:

80
29900
29901
29920
28910
4711

You may also need to have your Internet Service Provider open these ports for you. For help configuring a firewall or router you may need to refer to the manufacturer.

GameSpy has it's own requirements for ports. You may want to check the requirements listed in the Working Around the Firewall/Proxy section of their site.

Click here to go to GameSpy's firewall page. http://www.gamespyarcade.com/support/firewalls.shtml

Click here for further connection troubleshooting steps. http://eatech.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/eate ... php?p_sid=<? echo $p_sid ?>

Should you require further assistance about this or any Electronic Arts games in the future please visit our website and review our extensive Self Help knowledgebase (http://eatech.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/eate ... td_alp.php?)

Please email us about any significant change or development with your issue. If you experience any further difficulties in this matter please let us know.
Thank you for choosing EA Games!

Vincent A.
EA Games Technical Support
alThor
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:37 am
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:32 am

Apparently you can now use All Seeing Eye - may help people with freezing issues.
"If you are fed up with the in-game browser already then you may be interested in this new fix for the All Seeing Eye which allows you to connect directly to servers. ASE is the world's most popular game server browser and is a great way to find and join games more easily. Previously this wasn't possible, so thanks go to Digital Software for providing the fix.

All the documentation and necessary files can be found in the .rar download, which you can grab here"
Taken from http://www.totalbf2.com/
Gnomish
calm
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:06 am
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:45 am

Apparently you can now use All Seeing Eye - may help people with freezing issues.
"If you are fed up with the in-game browser already then you may be interested in this new fix for the All Seeing Eye which allows you to connect directly to servers. ASE is the world's most popular game server browser and is a great way to find and join games more easily. Previously this wasn't possible, so thanks go to Digital Software for providing the fix.

All the documentation and necessary files can be found in the .rar download, which you can grab here"
Taken from http://www.totalbf2.com/
thank jesus

anyone using this yet and can confirm/deny that it wont steal my megahurtz?
ParadoX
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3236
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 7:07 pm
Website: http://www.bittah.com
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:37 pm

[email protected]

I keep getting this error

"Couldn't locate your Hosts-file...Quitting"

Everything seems to be set up correctly.

:dev:
alThor
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:37 am
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 3:51 pm

i just filterd a few things like excluded small maps, non punkbuster servers, populated servers....that why the server query hasnt got so much to deal with it....it hasnt crashed on me since

POSSIBLE SOLUTION
anticz
annoyed
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 1:44 pm
ICQ: 24040851
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:07 pm

that would be great.. if only bf2 didn't lock up as soon as i hit multiplayer :dev:
pos.. seriously needs a patch NOW to fix these things :dev:
blind--
user
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:06 am
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:13 pm

i just filterd a few things like excluded small maps, non punkbuster servers, populated servers....that why the server query hasnt got so much to deal with it....it hasnt crashed on me since

POSSIBLE SOLUTION

That's what I do. I only get ~70 servers when I use these ticked


Punkbuster
Large Maps (I only play 64 player maps)
Same Version
Not passworded
Populated
Ranked


They seriously need to include some sort of location filter, or failing that, a goddamned ping filter. Seriously, how could you not fucking have a ping filter on an FPS game. I'm reallllly going to play on a 500 ping server :dev:
mastahpumba
bittah
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:08 pm
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:48 pm

Do this to stop it from freezing:

Click on Multiplayer and quickly go to one of the other tabs. When you go back to Multiplayer is will be all ok. Works for me and my brother read the same thing on Bigpond forums.
DiMmY
bittah
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 10:04 pm
[ignore]

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:43 pm

Re: Any solution to fucking server browser freezing on refresh?

A couple of times and I've had it. As in other games. So far, too, I haven't found a normal solution to the problem. This game I really like I can play for hours. The rest of the time I play in no deposit mobile casino.
Soperez
user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:01 pm
Website: https://blackjack-consultant.co.uk/
[ignore]