bittah.com!~ New gf4 fix that works

Tribes 1, Tribes 2 and Midair gaming hub for the Australia and New Zealand communities.
We don't mention vengeance or ascend.

bittah:// Community / Games / 

Moderator: Super Moderators

Discord

88
Online now

Midair

4
Playing now
  • Recent Topics
1 2 3 4 5

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:59 pm

New gf4 fix that works

Ok, I finally figured out how to fix that damn crash to desktop error when using a GF4TI card.

1) download the Microsoft Framework, do a search on google (+download +microsoft framework)

2) download DXTweaker: http://mrbauer.net/files/dxtweaker.rar

3) Extract to a folder on desktop

4) Run DXTweaker, and goto "New" on the right

5) Point it to your root BF2 EXE (in your EA Sports\battlefield 2\ DIR)

6) Check the 2 boxes that contain 'SHADER' , one is FORCE PP SHADER OTHER IS PS SHADER or something of that sourt

7) Click Apply, and then click RUN on the top.

It will launch the game with no problems and you will be playing very smoothly!
Works, looks like shit though.
Sansius
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:29 pm
ICQ: 146720728
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:26 pm

Neo
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3037
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 2:49 am
ICQ: 97306097
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:39 pm

This actually worked for you? What card?

I tried this so many times.. trying all the different options. It always died as soon as I tried to enter a game.
Foole
calm
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 10:47 am
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:52 pm

yeh I just tried on my 4400 - it loads up the game, everything up to the point where you can click on 'Join Game'.
Then when you click on it, crashes to desktop.
Neo
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3037
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 2:49 am
ICQ: 97306097
[ignore]

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:25 pm

personally i have a 9800pro, but my mate did this and it worked for him, we've been playing for a few hours.
Sansius
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:29 pm
ICQ: 146720728
[ignore]

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2005 2:51 am

if it works then cool :P
WerTicus
annoyed
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:00 pm
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:33 am

1) download the Microsoft Framework, do a search on google (+download +microsoft framework)

install this too?
any info on what version we should be installing?
Mr-Lag
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2614
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 9:18 pm
ICQ: 76214401
Website: http://www.battlefederation.com
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:53 am

doesn't work santah :dev: :dev: :dev: :dev:
Mr-Lag
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2614
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 9:18 pm
ICQ: 76214401
Website: http://www.battlefederation.com
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:56 am

yeh I just tried on my 4400 - it loads up the game, everything up to the point where you can click on 'Join Game'.
Then when you click on it, crashes to desktop.
^^^^^^^^
:dev: :dev: :dev: :dev: :dev: :dev: :dev: :dev:


there is more than 2 selections that have "shader" in them
Mr-Lag
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2614
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 9:18 pm
ICQ: 76214401
Website: http://www.battlefederation.com
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:23 am

The guy who originally posted this even replied saying he realised later that it doesn't work properly.

There is another fix around called BF2ShaderMod.zip but it's very dodgy.. crashes for some ppl, only just playable for others. I haven't tried it yet.

Forum post

Direct link to BF2ShaderMod.zip

Screen shot Screen shot
Foole
calm
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 10:47 am
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 5:13 pm

this fix works.
however it is not very effective.
the graphics are so fucked it's almost unplayable.
Mr-Lag
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2614
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 9:18 pm
ICQ: 76214401
Website: http://www.battlefederation.com
[ignore]

Post » Fri Jun 17, 2005 5:39 pm

its unplayable

the huds dont work well enough and i end up tking more because i cant tell who is who :D
darkmace
annoyed
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:53 pm
Location: VIC
[ignore]