bittah.com!~ tribes ascend SDK - Page 5

Tribes 1, Tribes 2 and Midair gaming hub for the Australia and New Zealand communities.
We don't mention vengeance or ascend.

bittah:// Tribes / General / 

Moderator: Super Moderators

Discord


Online now
  • Recent Topics
1 2 3 4 5

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:26 am

Re: tribes ascend SDK

Hit scan wasn't even invented in 1998 :lol:
Not true; wolf3d, doom, quake, duke3d all had primitive hitscan
SkymarshallHeff
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:06 pm

Sniping at 250 ping was never fun. If you wanted to MA, you had to lead so far that you couldn't see the enemy anymore (low resolutions). :yellow_laugh:
Monk
bittah
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:47 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:38 pm

Laser rifles (aka the only sniper rifle tribes should have) weren't shitscan... definitely required leading. ... you could even lead into the player after you fired iirc..... though that could've just been my 56k modem.... (that never hit 56k...)
aristo-
bittah
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:42 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:04 pm

99% sure they were hitscan with a ping delay hence the leading.
dose
unsettled
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:16 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:05 pm

Isnt the definition of hitscan - ping is irrelevant ? It hit's where you fire no matter your ping?
ImPaLoR
PLEASE EXPLAIN!
PLEASE EXPLAIN!
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:45 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:06 pm

http://tribes.wikia.com/wiki/Weapons_(S ... /Tribes_2)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starsiege:_Tribes

both say it was a hitscan weapon, not sure how it all works really.
dose
unsettled
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:16 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:11 pm

You had to lead in t1 while using sniper rifle
Impossible it was hits can! Unless you were playing shifter. All shifter rifles were hits can I think
XU1
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:27 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: tribes ascend SDK

Hitscan means no projectile (sometimes they leave a smoke trail). The name is about scanning the line of fire to see what was hit (if anything).
SkymarshallHeff
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:42 pm

You had to lead in t1 while using sniper rifle
Impossible it was hits can! Unless you were playing shifter. All shifter rifles were hits can I think
as mentioned in previous posts im sure there was a ping delay on the laser rifle which meant that you needed to lead with it, so not impossible. wouldn't know about shifter
dose
unsettled
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:16 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:03 pm

Server side hitscan v client side maybe.
ISimmoI
calm
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:47 pm
[ignore]

Post » Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:18 pm

Why not just put a delay on sniper rifle shots client side?
Dodge
unsettled
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:46 pm
Location: Victoria
[ignore]

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:49 pm

Magic health regen needs to diaf and dead tribals should definitely drop medkits, but one feature I'd keep from TA is the inv station call downs, though they should need the gen to work.
Crioca
user
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:42 pm
Location: Sydney
[ignore]

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:03 pm

Re: tribes ascend SDK

Magic health regen needs to diaf and dead tribals should definitely drop medkits, but one feature I'd keep from TA is the inv station call downs, though they should need the gen to work.
Nein, pack style is superior. It means you have to think about your loadout and team roster, not just summon a machine that overrides shitty tactical choices.
SkymarshallHeff
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:50 pm

Heff is right - plus there was something satisfying about finding that magic remote inv deploy spot that the opposition couldn't find for half the round.
ColonelBlair
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 7290
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 10:21 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:17 pm

I'd prefer them only being available from a full fledged inv and carried out into the field (replacing loadout pack thus forcing a revisit to base inv to be fully equipped) than called in at will.
dose
unsettled
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:16 pm
[ignore]

Post » Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:18 pm

Heff is right - plus there was something satisfying about finding that magic remote inv deploy spot that the opposition couldn't find for half the round.
OR clocking that medium armour dude that was lugging the deployable inv out to its secret squirrel location en route to your first cap run (which generally fucked that team as the HO's would go straight for the gens and rape the invs, seriously weakening that teams offence ability if all the spawning lights are having to help retake the base - this is the kind of shit i loved about T2)
Deepjay
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
bittah, jaded, anti social freak
 
Posts: 13696
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:31 am

i cbf'ed reading this thread, cliffs pls. what is going on?
Bash
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:47 pm
[ignore]

Post » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:39 am

Re: tribes ascend SDK

i cbf'ed reading this thread, cliffs pls. what is going on?
Altimor, famed TA hacker,.released an SDK for TA that, roughly speaking, translates code written in the D language into valid UnrealScript (the language powering unreal engine content) and injects it into an old leaked TA dev client, therefore allowing a degree of modding.
SkymarshallHeff
corporal bittah
corporal bittah
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:33 am
[ignore]

Post » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:56 am

Isn't he only a kid, and started doing this bloody ages ago?
Bash
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:47 pm
[ignore]

Post » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:21 am

Since we're using an old TA dev client, does this mean that we won't be able to fix the performance issues + demos? Because they're kind of a big deal... (I haven't looked into this at all yet)
ISimmoI
calm
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:47 pm
[ignore]