bittah.com!~ NBN wireless?

Tribes 1, Tribes 2 and Midair gaming hub for the Australia and New Zealand communities.
We don't mention vengeance or ascend.

Moderator: Super Moderators

Discord

81
Online now
  • Recent Topics
1 2 3 4 5

Post » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:04 pm

NBN wireless?

So, I have nbn getting installed in the garage within a few weeks.
I have a cat5 cable running from the garage(where the nbn hardware will be installed) to the lounge room which will have a wireless router for wireless connection (duh) the lounge room is 15 - 20 metres away from my fully sick gaming PC.

My question is, should I run a cat5 or 6 20M cable from the nbn hardware, straight to my PC? Or pray to God wireless will be okay and won't drop our every few minutes.

Does the nbn hardware act as a router / modem? I'm a bit confused.

Or

Should I run a cat5 20 M cable from the lounge room where the wireless router is, to my PC?

What a head f**k
XU1
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4442
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:27 am
[ignore]

Post » Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:55 pm

Depending how good your wifi AP is you'll get ping jitter that'll make latency sensitive games (eg. dota) feel laggy so you're better off running a cable.

edit: nfi about the NBN hardware its prob just a gateway device? If so run a cable to your PC (or a switch close to your PC/HTC whatever) and get a wifi access point for tablets/phones etc.
Sarge
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3745
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 11:06 pm
[ignore]

Post » Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:15 am

Run some cat6 from the nbn hardware to your router, then cat6 from router to pc. Wireless for all your lesser devices.

Here's an old article, not sure how relevant it still is but I believe most nbn installs are similar to this:
http://www.pcauthority.com.au/Feature/2 ... -like.aspx
Seraphic
bittah
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:43 pm
[ignore]

Post » Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:23 am

Run some cat6 from the nbn hardware to your router, then cat6 from router to pc. Wireless for all your lesser devices.

Here's an old article, not sure how relevant it still is but I believe most nbn installs are similar to this:
http://www.pcauthority.com.au/Feature/2 ... -like.aspx
I'll run a cable from router to PC.

Thanks for the link
XU1
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4442
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:27 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:25 pm

Assume there is a powerpoint in the garage near the nbn port?

Try a pair of good EoP devices and just have a cable from nbn>eop>eop2>router (assuming in same spot as the pc, else, eop from router to your pc)
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:26 pm

Assume there is a powerpoint in the garage near the nbn port?

Try a pair of good EoP devices and just have a cable from nbn>eop>eop2>router (assuming in same spot as the pc, else, eop from router to your pc)
ew eop. get outta here ****.
PeTtY
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:57 am
[ignore]

Post » Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:31 pm

It aint bad now, early ones were poopdoodle, but some of the new (read: $$$) ones actually get decent throughput & ping
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 13, 2016 8:55 am

I read abit about eop. I think I'll stay clear of that one jazzy :)
Ethernet over power does not seem right. The ping might be steady but the speed sucks.

The old cat5 cable from router to pc is the only way and best way.

I just wanted to know if I could go cat5 from nbn hardware straight to the PC to get max speeds
XU1
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4442
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:27 am
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:36 pm

Ive got a pet hate for cat5 cables running around all over the floor and tucked up over doorways and ****.

Eop or wifi AC exceed greatly what you would be getting out of 50/20 FW nbn.
jazzymcsleazy
bittah freak
bittah freak
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: scips
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 13, 2016 6:29 pm

I'm going to run it through the roof and have points :D all neat and tidy jaz

all I need is an electrician.

I was surprised to find out cat 5 20m cable only worth 30 dollars. Cheap!
XU1
bittah doyen
bittah doyen
 
Posts: 4442
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:27 am
[ignore]

Post » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:07 pm

I'm going to run it through the roof and have points :D all neat and tidy jaz

all I need is an electrician.

I was surprised to find out cat 5 20m cable only worth 30 dollars. Cheap!
get cat6 brah. MSY have like 30m of it for $30.
http://www.msy.com.au/qldonline/pc-acce ... cable.html

If your gonna get it wired up through the home your better of spending a few extra dollars for shielding/water protection.

http://www.msy.com.au/qldonline/cables/ ... cable.html
PeTtY
bittah tardleader
bittah tardleader
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:57 am
[ignore]